Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Perfectionism

Video 020
8

I heard a new definition of perfectionism and I don’t quite love it, but maybe it’s because perfectionist needs a rebrand. The audiobook I talk about here is Miracle and Wonder: Conversations with Paul Simon. It’s good. There will be a whole post about it next week, so stay tuned.

Since recording this video, I have re-listened to parts of the audiobook, and so can now give you the exact definition they use: a perfectionist is “someone who is perpetually seeking, but never finding. The perfectionist can never have the pleasure of self satisfaction, not at least until the very end. But, on the other hand, the perfectionist has motivation to keep going, even after others have stopped.” It still doesn’t sound positive to me! I’m a little surprised they so happily called Paul Simon a perfectionist. Not quite to his face, although I’m assuming he listened to the book, so almost to his face.

I also just learned about a new book called The Perfectionist’s Guide to Losing Control, which says there are five types of perfectionist: classic, intense, messy, procrastinating, and PARISIAN. I will absolutely be reading this book and will let you know what it means for us. I’m hoping I can blend the types and be an intense and messy Parisian perfectionist.

Share

8 Comments
Do the Work
Videos
Pep talks about writing and creativity, mostly while I'm walking the dog.
Authors
Julie Falatko