Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
7

IYKYK

Video 036
7

I am all for learning new things, but also! You don’t need to know everything. I don’t want to know everything.

If you know, you know, sure. But let’s embrace the fact that there are things we don’t know. There are things I’ll never know. I don’t know much of anything about video games. I’ve never watched Game of Thrones or Friday Night Lights or The Bachelor. I've never read a Babysitter's Club book. Some of these I might never know more about, and some of these I will.

I don’t have time to know everything. You probably don’t either. It’s ok to narrow down your inputs, to only really know what you want and need to know. I’m more worried about writing everything I can, not about knowing everything.

And if you really need to know something, there is this whole internet thing, and you can figure it out.

Share

Do the Work is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

7 Comments
Do the Work
Videos
Pep talks about writing and creativity, mostly while I'm walking the dog.
Authors
Julie Falatko